Cacao Berry Avocado Smoothie

I am not a morning person… but I am quickly learning to be one.  When I married my husband eight years ago, it never occurred to me that his “morning-ness” would inevitably transfer to our three boys.  Needless to say, this girl-who-loves-to-sleep-in rarely stays in bed past 6:30 am.

Every once in a while, I do stay in bed.  And while I sleep, the little boys have a daddy-date with Lego’s, Car Ramps, and Nerf Guns.  Daddy-date-mornings are incredibly awesome.  Saturday morning I was awoken at 8:30 am by one excited dad who begged me to get out of bed quickly before the destroying-18-month-old had a chance to demolish his latest creations.

Stumbling out of bed, I discovered that my house had been invaded with pirate Lego ships.

Lego ships with pirates and cannons and planks.

Carefully swimming through shark infested oceans (my kitchen floor), I whipped up a batch of my favorite Cacao Berry Avocado Smoothie.  When the treasured smoothie was securely poured into cups, I set sail with my boys and landed on a desert island where I enjoyed my breakfast smoothie.  Simple moments like this are the true treasures found in life.

Cacao Berry Avocado Smoothie

1 handful raw cashews
2-3 Tablespoons raw organic cacao powder
1 avocado
1 very ripe banana
2 Tablespoons maple syrup
Dash of salt
1-2 Tablespoons chia seeds
1 cup frozen mixed berries
1 handful of spinach
1-2 cups water

Directions:
1. Remove pit from avocado and scoop fruit from it’s shell.
2.  Place all of the ingredients in your high-powered-blender (I love my Vitamix – it works perfectly in recipes like this).  Blend ingredients until smooth.  Add additional water if needed to create the consistency you desire.

 

Leave a Reply

