How to: Oil Pulling

After my crazy pregnancy with baby girl, I walked away from that dentist chair with ten cavities.  You heard me right.  Ten.  And for the record, I was brushing my teeth multiple times a day, taking my vitamins, and avoiding sugar.  My inability to keep anything inside my stomach thwarted any and all good efforts.

Simply stated:  My mouth was in pretty bad shape.

I had the cavities fixed.  I walked away humbled and very much in need of a miracle to heal my mouth.  And that fatigue?  We can keep that issue to a whisper.

Insert Oil Pulling.  Otherwise known as the “art” of swooshing oil around the inside of your mouth for about 20 minutes.

According to Wikipedia, Oil pulling comes from a traditional Ayurvedic folk remedy that has been used to improve oral and systemic health.  It is believed to help improve conditions such as headaches, migraines, diabetes mellitus, asthma, acne, joint pain, fatigue, and to whiten teeth.  It is believed that the during the “oil pull” the toxins are pulled from the salivary glands and released from the body, thereby detoxing the blood.

If swooshing oil around in my mouth could transform my teeth into plaque fighting warriors, erase my exhaustion, and fold my laundry, it was worth a try.  After a month of religious swooshing, I am a believer.  My teeth feel whiter and stronger and my fatigue isn’t as intense.  Laundry?  I am still waiting for that benefit.

To start, all you need is a heaping tablespoon of pure coconut oil, sesame seed oil, or olive oil.

IMG_3353

Place the oil inside of your mouth (do not swallow!) and swoosh it around and around and around for twenty minutes.  It’s so easy, you can do it with a baby on your hip.

This step is the most important:  After your twenty minutes, spit the oil out.  You don’t want to swallow the toxins.  Trust me.   Rinse your mouth out with warm water.

Simple, right?

Oil pulling is greasy, amazing, and it will strengthen your jaw muscles a billion percent.  While there is growing controversy as to the effectiveness of oil pulling, there is one thing for certain:  oil pulling will make you a better kisser.

Additional Reading:

Leave a Reply

